Make Sunday Count – 6 ways to prep for a fantastically frugal week

As a 9-5er, Sunday is about reading, walking, picnicking with friends, nursing a hangover, catching up on sleep and laundry. But a really great Sunday can also help set you up for an awesome and wealth-wise week. Here are a couple of things I try to do most Sundays to fire me up for a new week:

  1. Make a big batch of lunches (45minutes – save $45) – I love cooking and I love cooking beans, which are an excellent food to reheat at work with some rice and smoky hot sauce. As part of Sunday dinner prep, I throw the rice cooker on (best $15 you will ever spend), and then chop up onions, garlic, veggies, fry it up with choice spices (cumin, smoked paprika, cinnamon, oregano), add some tinned tomatoes and tinned beans, and after about 30mins of cooking you have excellent lunches for the whole week. Just whack a serve of rice and beans into five tupperware containers and bam, healthy, cheap lunches for the week! If you don’t like beans and rice, there are heaps of other options – sandwiches, pasta, curries – whatever you like cooking and love eating. Either way, you will save heaps by not paying for lunch at work and likely eat a much healthier meal.
  2. Stock the fridge with healthy and nutritious snacks – I tend to do a shop on Sunday and try to make sure there is a good abundance of fruit, nuts, veggies and dips in the fridge to make sure that I have plenty of great snacks to take to work and avoid the mad rush to the takeaway kebab joint in the afternoon when a 5pm-hunger starts to kick in.
  3. Put a water bottle in your bag – you never know when you will need a drink, and there is pretty much always a tap to be found somewhere to fill up. This always saves me cash as I never need to buy bottled water and reduces my impact on the environment from massively energy intensive and wasteful plastic bottles. Win-win!
  4. Check your expenses for the week and put that into your spending account – I like to take a few minutes to think about what I will be spending during the week (groceries, petrol, pub meal etc.) and just transferring that amount into my debit card account. This allows me to pre-plan and figure out strategies to reduce overspending (for example, if I know I will be meeting friends at the pub in the evening, I might decide to have dinner at home first then only have a drink when I’m there to avoid the $20-odd cost of the meal).
  5. Make a mini-FIRE goal – financial independence and early retirement (FIRE) is a stretch goal of mine, so to motivate myself I set a little financial goal for myself that week to help me along that journey – it might be an action related to a bigger monthly/yearly project to build new habits or simply something I’ve been wanting to try out to see how it fits with my life. It also helps to reinforce why I’m spending the time to do the things above.
  6. Get to bed early! – there is nothing worse for destroying self-control and laying the groundwork for credit card carnage than tiredness. With weeks seeming ever more busy, I find that if I don’t get a decent sleep on Sunday, it is extremely hard for me to catch up during the week. It definitely can be tough to get to be early on Sunday when you’re beginning to think about work, plan the week but still trying to enjoy the weekend. I find that making sure I get some decent exercise in, some sun if possible, limiting alcohol and screen-time and eating relatively early all set me up for an excellent Sunday sleep.

 

Is there anything you get up to on Sunday that sets you up for a stellar week? I’d love to know!

Leave a Reply

